A Sweet Start

Standard

It all begins tomorrow!  Or it all ends tomorrow: two ways of looking at the big move and step I am about to take.  My goal, and the purpose of this blog, is to embrace the former and find the merit and ease that isn’t normally associated with the daunting institution of medicine.  Tomorrow I start medical school, or at least I move to start medical school.  While my location may be the sweetest place on Earth, moving certainly doesn’t share the same adjective.  I despise moving-there is nothing worse than having to put everything you own into boxes, disassemble furniture, drive all of your belongings halfway across a state only to have to move everything into the new house and try to establish another system of organization.  My anal retentive style cannot handle the variables involved with moving—from now on, I want to be heavily sedated observing as movers organize my belongings and deal with the inevitable issues associated with Ikea furniture.

Tomorrow I will drive three and a half hours and move the rest of my belongings into my lovely, albeit small, apartment, sin movers.  I’ll need luck and muscular strength that I don’t possess but it will get done.  My parents are helping me get everything into my new abode and then I will start trying to make my apartment feel like home.  My roommate won’t be arriving until Saturday so you may be hearing from me sooner rather than later if boredom sets in…that’s something I’ve been thinking about lately.  Boredom.

After July 31st, I don’t think I will be able to say I am truly bored ever again.  I spent the summer relishing in perfect, summer boredom—I didn’t work, exert myself, or do much of anything in anticipation of the stressful year ahead.  Okay, maybe I was a bit lazy but I don’t think I will be able to make a pledge of pointed boredom ever again so I took full advantage of the opportunity.  From here on out, my time won’t be my own.  I truly believe that doctors, and physicians to be, relinquish their ability to operate selfishly when they take the Hippocratic Oath and begin practicing medicine.  Maybe my outlook is shadowed by naivety but I really believe that apart from altruism, the best quality a doctor can maintain is selflessness.  Hence why I spent this summer focusing on myself…as egotistical as that sounds.  Right now I’m going to go finish up some last minute packing and perhaps watch an episode of Greek while eating leftovers from my graduation party (I know what you’re thinking; talk about self-indulgence) but I’ll introduce myself a little more in my next blog and maybe even include a picture of my new home.

For now, a picture of before:

Lots of work to be done…

Thanks for reading!

-Lindsay

Leave a Reply

