A Whirlwind Three Weeks

Standard

Oh, apologies won’t even cut it this time! Just consider the time I spent away from blogging to be weeks of building memories and excellent stories to share with all you readers! As of Wednesday at 4:30 PM, I officially completed my first semester of medical school. I couldn’t even imagine this feeling when I first started this blog and I am still trying to comprehend what it means to be 1/8 of the way through my medical school curriculum. The past two and a half weeks were frantic, preparing for our last exam, submitting final assignments and packing for a much-needed two week break. Reflecting on the past 4 and a half months, I can honestly say that I wouldn’t want to be doing anything else. Despite the never-ending studying, the incredible amount of stress, the frightening new experiences and many sleepless nights, medical school has proven to be the best decision to have worked so hard for. It’s challenging, when caught up in the momentum of the curriculum and hectic nature of everyday medical school life, to take the time to assess whether you are really enjoying what it is you are learning and partaking in. Medical school, like college, is far more than a mere learning experience–it is an endeavor and a ongoing process of self-exploration and discovery. I am truly lucky to be afforded this experience…and while I am relishing the coming 16 days devoid of studying, I am already looking forward to Spring Semester. Rather than one large, overwhelming post concerning the past several months’ activities, I think I will try and blog once a week as I lay in the Florida sun (under an umbrella and coated with 80 SPF sunscreen…thanks pathology for making me acutely aware of the dangers of melanoma) and enjoy time with family. Stay tuned and I hope everyone is gearing up for a wonderful holiday season!

Thanks for sticking around!
-Lindsay

Leave a Reply

